DayBreaks for 09/06/13 – Are We Lying to Jesus?

DayBreaks for 09/06/13 – Are We Lying to Jesus?

1 Corinthians 14:15 (NLT)  Well then, what shall I do? I will pray in the spirit, and I will also pray in words I understand. I will sing in the spirit, and I will also sing in words I understand.

I’m troubled.  On the day I write this, I spent about an hour with a group of pastors and believers in prayer.  It was great – that wasn’t the problem.  What troubled me is a thought that occurred to me during the meeting.  At one point, someone started leading a song and the words of the song struck me…hard.  And that set me to thinking….

We sing lots of sweet, wonderful-sounding songs that have words which I doubt that we really mean.  For example: “All to Jesus I surrender, all to him I freely give.  I will ever love and trust him, in his presence daily live.  I surrender all, I surrender all…” 

Now how true is it when we say, “All to Jesus I surrender”?  Note that we’re not saying we want to surrender all to him…we’re saying we have surrendered all to him.  I doubt that’s a statement that any of us can make, and if we do, we need to repent and ask forgiveness for lying or pride, one or the other.  Even as we sing it, if you think about it, have you surrendered that most secret, dark sin that you seem to fall for every time, that part of your heart where you keep it hidden?  You may want to, but have you?  Have I?

I’m sure you can think of the words to many other songs where we make outrageous statements – but I wonder if they’re real: 

“In Christ alone my hope is found…”  Really?  Or do we still hope in our bank account, our government, our looks or intelligence to figure a way out of a dilemma? 

What of singing about how we hope to join in his sufferings and become like him “in your death, my Lord”?  Really? 

Does Jesus care about our words?  Oh, yeah, he does!!!!

I know this is sort of a rant, but I believe based on the passage above that we need to be careful not only in what we say, but what we sing.  Perhaps we’d be better off at times to keep our mouth shut than sing out lies.  Or, alter the words to fit the truth of your life and reality…and in so doing we may find he gives us strength to become what the words of the song describe – a person totally sold out to him.  Until we realize (and admit) that we’re not totally given over to him, we won’t make much progress because we won’t see the need for change.

PRAYER: Father, I fear that I’ve often sung words to you claiming to be things that I am not, claiming to think things that I don’t.  I admit that there is a part of me that’s still all too human that doesn’t want to pay the price to surrender all to you.  Forgive me.  Help me want what you want for me!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2013 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and raises his own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to help support Galen in his ministry work with MAI, you can make a donation on his behalf.  One-time donations may be made by going to this link: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html.  Look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section then click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to PayPal where you can donate to his support.  If you wish to make a recurring donation, contact suzette@med-amb.org or call her at 209-543-7500 ext. 219.  You can also write a check to Medical Ambassadors International. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  All donations are tax deductible as MAI is a 501.c.3 organization certified with the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability.

Thank you!

2 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 09/06/13 – Are We Lying to Jesus?

  1. Well said. Sometimes I find myself praying in my head during a song for God’s forgiveness that I am not doing something and/or that God will help me accomplish whatever it is that I am singing. Linda

    • I hear you, Linda! I find myself as we sing realizing that sometimes I can’t really honestly say the things the song says (though I know I should be able to and may sometimes even WANT to!), so I will not sing a particular phrase, etc. It is so easy to flippantly or even say those things in a worshipful excitement without really thinking about what we’re saying to Jesus or what we’re claiming before God.

Leave a Reply

