DayBreaks for 08/29/13 – RX: Cataract Removal

DayBreaks for 08/29/13 – RX: Cataract Removal

Luke 18:9-13 (NLT) – Then Jesus told this story to some who had great confidence in their own righteousness and scorned everyone else:  “Two men went to the Temple to pray. One was a Pharisee, and the other was a despised tax collector.  The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed this prayer: ‘I thank you, God, that I am not a sinner like everyone else. For I don’t cheat, I don’t sin, and I don’t commit adultery. I’m certainly not like that tax collector!   I fast twice a week, and I give you a tenth of my income.’ 13  “But the tax collector stood at a distance and dared not even lift his eyes to heaven as he prayed. Instead, he beat his chest in sorrow, saying, ‘O God, be merciful to me, for I am a sinner.’

When we read this parable, we are quick to think about how brash and proud the Pharisee was and think that we’d never, ever make such bold statements to God!  And we probably wouldn’t (though I’ve heard many people say, “I’m a good wo/man, so I’ll go to heaven” which is only a slightly tamer version of the attitude of the Pharisee in the story!)  I certainly have never heard anyone pray that way.  BUT…how often do we compare ourselves to others and come away feeling proud about our level of righteousness versus theirs?  We may have hearts and minds full of angry thoughts, lustful thoughts, bitterness and prejudices, but because we’re not shooting up or smoking crack, because we are clean and not filthy and smelly, we look down on those who do those things.  Our sins may be invisible while theirs are highly visible.  And somehow, we think that makes us better than them.  We wouldn’t say that to God, but we think it in our hearts.  And that makes us just like the Pharisee in this story from Jesus.

When is the last time you were on your knees, beating your breast over your sinfulness?  Are you even aware of your sinfulness, or have the eyes of your heart become so covered with sin cataracts that you can’t see it in yourself anymore?  It happens to all of us…as the result of continuous sinful practices, one sin at a time, followed by a repetition of those acts.  Blindness is the result.  We need cataract removal!!!!

PRAYER: God, remove the scales from our eyes as you did with Saul of Tarsus, that we may see ourselves clearly in the blazing Light of your holy Presence!  In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2013 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen is a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) and raises his own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to help support Galen in his ministry work with MAI, you can make a donation on his behalf.  One-time donations may be made by going to this link: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html.  Look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section then click on “Galen Dalrymple” and you’ll be taken to PayPal where you can donate to his support.  If you wish to make a recurring donation, contact suzette@med-amb.org or call her at 209-543-7500 ext. 219.  You can also write a check to Medical Ambassadors International. Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.  All donations are tax deductible as MAI is a 501.c.3 organization certified with the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability.

Thank you!

2 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 08/29/13 – RX: Cataract Removal

  1. And by the way, Galen…I could write to you every day in one way or another and tell you how you have touched and blessed my life with your Daybreaks. Come to think of it, I’m not sure why I don’t…but the wisdom and passion that comes through your writing penetrates right to my heart. I know that might sound “dramatic” and there are different messages that hit me more than others, but your love for God and your desire for everyone to know Him as their Lord and Savior and then live their lives for Him is so powerful and so encouraging! And only knowing you and Laurel in the way that I do, I know partly that your lives have been farrrrrrrr from easy and you have had struggles after struggles. But your faith and trust in the plans God is always a part of who you are. Not that you don’t get discouraged, upset, angry, whatever, I don’t know your emotions. But the fact that you have read the “ending of the story” you can tell brings you great peace. I’m sorry I don’t tell you more often how much your Daybreaks mean to me, because they do! I so appreciate the time, the research, the creativity, the listening to God and His Word, the experiences shared, the lessons learned that goes into writing every single day. I don’t know how you do it, how you find the time, other than saying God gives it to you, just as He has gifted you with the talent to write for Him!! You have an incredible family and you are an amazing man. Thank you for sharing yourself and your family and your gifts!!!!!!!

    Have a blessed day my friend, Janine

    P.S. Thank you for reminding me just how ugly my sin is…especially when I try to see it differently…

    • Janine: what a blessing you are! You are such an encourager!!!! Maybe the new name God gives you in heaven will b “Barnabasette”!!! (I’m sure it will be much more beautiful than that, but you get the point!) May you find peace in knowing that no mattr how ugly your sin is, it has already been paid for, forgiven and wiped away….forever!!!! YOU are HIS little girl and He loves you infinitely!!!!

Leave a Reply

