DayBreaks for 08/12/13 – Who, or What, Indeed?!

DayBreaks for 08/12/13 – Who, or What, Indeed?

581184_388936711143064_626756847_nRomans 8:31 (NLT)  What shall we say about such wonderful things as these? If God is for us, who can ever be against us?

Romans 8:31 (MSG)  So, what do you think? With God on our side like this, how can we lose?   

Sunday morning at worship we sang the song, Our God by Chris Tomlin, that includes these words:

“And if our God is for us, then who could ever stop us.
And if our God is with us, then what could stand against.
And if our God is for us, then who could ever stop us.
And if our God is with us, then what could stand against.
What could stand against.”

I was reflecting on those words and I knew that later I would write this DayBreaks and felt led to write on these verses and that song.  Perhaps one of you today needed to hear those words.  Why? Because:

If God is for you, who is going to stop you in your ministry?

If God is for you, who is going to stop you at your work?

If God is for you, who is going to stop you at your school?

If God is for you, who is going to stop you in your home?

If God is with you, can that dread diagnosis stand against you?

If God is with you, can those malicious lies stand against you

If God is with you, can that broken heart keep you down?

If God is with you, if God is for you, what, indeed, or who can possibly succeed against you?  Nothing my friends.  Nothing. 

How do we know that?  We have His promise on it. 

Our pastor in Georgia said, “Attempt something so great for God that it is doomed to fail unless God is in it.”  We moved there to work with a start-up Christian NGO that was dedicated to helping children around the world.  After 7 months, it ran out of funds.   It felt like failure.  We had to move back to northern California and live with family until something else opened up.  The sense of shame was immense within me.  I felt everyone was looking at me and thinking, “Failure!  There goes a failure!” 

But was it a failure?  I don’t think it was.  I learned a lot.  I learned where I believe I am called to be – and I’m still working with the very needy and poor and oppressed – and I love it.  It was a season of preparation, of seasoning. 

What often looks like failure to us is not.   We have His word on it.  He will never leave us.  If He is for us (and He is), no person or being can stop against us.  If He is for us (and He is), no thing will stand against us. 

Live like it.  You are a child of the King!

PRAYER: Make us bold, Lord, let us live boldly knowing that You are with us, and for us!  In Your name, Amen.

Copyright 2013 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen is working as a missionary with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) (medicalambassadors.org) and is responsible for raising own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to help support Galen in his ministry work with MAI, you can make a donation on his behalf.  One-time donations may be made by going to this link: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html and look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section.  Then look for “Galen Dalrymple”.  Click his name and you’ll be taken to PayPal where you can donate to his support.  If you wish to make a recurring donation, contact suzette@med-amb.org or call her at 209-543-7500 ext. 219.  You can also write a check to Medical Ambassadors International (a 501.c.3 non-profit – meaning your donations are deductible) and put S090 in the Memo field.  Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368. 

Medical Ambassadors International is a 501.c.3 organization that has been serving the needy, sharing the gospel and helping them become self-sufficient for 32 years.  Check them out!  They are also members of ECFA (the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability).

Your support is greatly appreciated!!!!  Thank you!

4 thoughts on “DayBreaks for 08/12/13 – Who, or What, Indeed?!

  1. Hi Galen

    This was a powerful word for me.

    If God is with you, can that broken heart keep you down?

    My heart was broken and life shattered 18 mos ago when my husband decided to have an affair with someone 15 yrs. my junior, asked me to move out of our home and to get a divorce.

    All of that has happened but now God has asked me to forgive him and given me a new love for him. He is still with the other woman but I am believing God for his repentance, salvation and the restoration of our marriage.

    “Attempt something so great for God that it is doomed to fail unless God is in it.”

    How I love this statement from your pastor. I am confident that God is in it and I will give all the glory and honor to him when it takes place.

    Sincerely, Carolyn

    • Carolyn: I’m so sorry for all your pain and betrayal. Not having been through that myself, I won’t say that I know what you’re doing through, but more importantly, He knows what you are enduring. I will join my prayer to yours for healing, repentance, forgiveness and reconciliation. HE will never leave you nor abandon you. Here’s a link to a powerful song that speaks to me in times of struggle: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxFyX29pZnI

      If you ever feel you need a confidential, safe place to vent, I’m here.

      Be blessed by His Son-shine today!
      Galen

  2. Right now we are at a crossroads and we are waiting on a confirmation from the Lord on what we should do. We were called to this particular church (home church} to lead singing and we also teach Sunday School there, Recently we had a new person join the music team and he is causing some problems and has drawn one of the other team members into it. Then the other road, our church does not have night services and we have been going to another church for those services and have become part of their church family also. This church lost their church in a fire last year and they are meeting in a rented building for now. Someone donated a piano and no one plays it. So after the service I asked permission to try it out and this turned into a wonderful extra hour of everyone gathering around the piano singing and praising the Lord. I felt so free and I could feel the Spirit so strong. Every song they asked me to play the Lord showed me how to play it. I play by ear. It was a wonderful experience. We stand at this crossroads not knowing yet what to do. Please pray for my husband and I that God will lead is where we should go.

    • Will do, Mona! Thanks for sharing your dilemma and story. I will join my prayer to yours to know HIS will and then for the strength and courage to follow HIM and do it! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

