DayBreaks for 05/31/13 – Missing Memory

DayBreaks for 05/31/13 – Missing Memory

NOTE: New DayBreaks will resume next week!

BLOT-OUT1b

I used to be very proud of my memory.  I could remember statistics (mostly meaningless), facts, trivia, numbers, names and faces.  My memory was so sharp.  No I can’t even remember what I’ve forgotten, or where I’ve left my memory.   Sometimes it really frustrates me.  I just KNOW I should be able to remember that key fact that I read in the paper or magazine.  I should be able to remember who a quote came from.  But alas…should doesn’t make it so.   Most of the time, my “missing memory” is a curse.

At other times, however, missing memory is a blessing.  When I look back at my hospitalization and surgery in late November, I really remember very little of it.  I hardly remember any pain, and of the week-plus that I spent in the hospital, I’d be very hard pressed to account for 90% of it.  And that’s good.

So, sometimes forgetfulness is good.  Consider this story, shared by Brennan Manning in his book, The Ragamuffin Gospel, about a Catholic woman who was claiming to have visions of Jesus.  Word if it reached the archbishop who was skeptical and who decided to check out her story to separate fact from fiction.  The story of their encounter goes as follows:

Is it true, ma’am, that you have visions of Jesus?’ asked the cleric.

“Yes,” the woman replied simply.

“Well, the next time you have a vision, I want you to ask Jesus to tell you the sins that I confessed in my last confession.”

The woman was stunned.  “Did I hear you right, bishop?  You actually want me to ask Jesus to tell me the sins of your past?”

“Exactly.  Please call me if anything happens.”

Ten days later, the woman notified her spiritual leader of a recent apparition.  “Please come,” she said.

Within the hour the archbishop arrived.  He trusted eye-to-eye contact.  “You just told me on the telephone that you actually had a vision of Jesus.  Did you do what I asked?”

“Yes, bishop, I asked Jesus to tell me the sins you confessed in your last confession.”

The bishop leaned forward with anticipation.  His eyes narrowed.  “What did Jesus say?”

She took his hand and gazed deep into his eyes.  “Bishop,” she said, “these are his exact words: ‘I can’t remember.’”

Isaiah 43:25 – “I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more.

How can it be possible that the blotting out of our sins is “for My own sake” (meaning God)?  Perhaps it is as simple as this: because He loves us, if He couldn’t forgive our sins (and forget them), He would have no choice but to destroy all that He has created – and that would break the heart of the Father.

I praise God that through the blood of the Lamb, when he is asked my sins on judgment day, His answer will be “I can’t remember.”

Copyright 2002 by Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

Copyright 2013 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen has started working with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) (medicalambassadors.org) and is responsible for raising own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to help support Galen in his ministry work with MAI, you can make a donation on his behalf.  One-time donations may be made by going to this linke: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html and look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section.  Then look for “Galen Dalrymple”.  Click his name and you’ll be taken to PayPal where you can donate to his support.  If you wish to make a recurring donation, contact suzette@med-amb.org or call her at 209-543-7500 ext. 219.  You can also write a check to Medical Ambassadors International (a 501.c.3 non-profit – meaning your donations are deductible) and put S090 in the Memo field.  Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.

Medical Ambassadors International is a 501.c.3 organization that has been serving the needy, sharing the gospel and helping them become self-sufficient for 32 years.  Check them out!  They are also members of ECFA (the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability).  Your support is greatly appreciated!!!!  Thank you!

One thought on “DayBreaks for 05/31/13 – Missing Memory

  1. That is so cute and true to:)His death was not in vain but we have to ask for forgiveness first in order to be forgiven As far as your memory, I wouldn’t worry about that you know I work with dementia all the time and it can be a blessing if you look at it the way I do.It is harder for the family then the one who suffers this, they go to the Lord as little children it is very cool as far as I am concerned,they are innocent and leave the earth without knowing nothing but I bet as soon as their eyes close they see the Lord face to face and remember everything and see clearer then they ever have in their whole earthly stay:)God is good!

Leave a Reply

