DayBreaks for 05/20/13 – Where It Shines Brightest

DayBreaks for 05/20/13 – Where It Shines the Brightest

bright-light-1NOTE: I am on a missions trip/internship to Africa and will be gone until 5/25.  Please pray for God’s work to go forth mightily, for protection for myself and those with whom I will be working, and for my wife in my absence!  Thank you…I cherish your prayers!  You will be receiving DayBreaks as usual (from the archive) until I’ve returned.

Romans 6:15 – “What then? Shall we sin because we are not under law but under grace? By no means!

On the surface, the very suggestion that we should sin so that God’s grace would be magnified is ludicrous.  I don’t know anyone who has ever seriously suggested such a thing.  I have to wonder if the writer to Romans was being facetious.  I find the suggestion shocking that a Christian could think such a thing.

Yet, once I get past the shock of the idea, I find that my actions are not as consistent with my indignation about the suggestion of sinning so that grace is magnified.  Every time that I knowingly sin and have an inkling of a notion that “Well, if I blow it, I can go back to God and ask Him to forgive me again” I betray the fact that part of me has bought into this offensive logic.

We all need to remember the terrible price that was paid so that we could be under grace instead of law, under the law of love instead of the law written on stone.  It is when we forget (or when we consciously ignore) the suffering of the Lamb of God that we give in to our sinful desires.  May God always keep the cross of Christ set before our eyes!

I like what Brennan Manning had to say in The Ragamuffin Gospel: “Here was the purest picture I’d ever seen of God’s relentless pursuit of His raggedy creation.  Not that I could sin more so grace might abound (Rom. 6:15), but grace abounded more because I could find it in the darkness as much as in the light.

Perhaps that is as good of a description of grace as I’ve ever heard…it is something that isn’t found only when we are walking in the light, but it is appreciated much more when we find and experience it in the darkness of our sinfulness.

Copyright 2002 by Galen C. Dalrymple.  ><}}}”>

Copyright 2013 by Galen C. Dalrymple.

To subscribe to DayBreaks, use this link: https://daybreaksdevotions.wordpress.com and click on the Subscribe button at the right of the page.  If you wish to unsubscribe, at the bottom of each email you receive about DayBreaks, you should find an “Unsubscribe” ink at the bottom of the email.

NOTE: Galen has started working with Medical Ambassadors International (MAI) (medicalambassadors.org) and is responsible for raising own support.  DayBreaks is free – and will remain so – but if you wish to help support Galen in his ministry work with MAI, you can make a donation on his behalf.  One-time donations may be made by going to this linke: http://www.medicalambassadors.org/donate.html and look down the left side of the page until you find the SUPPORT MISSIONARIES section.  Then look for “Galen Dalrymple”.  Click his name and you’ll be taken to PayPal where you can donate to his support.  If you wish to make a recurring donation, contact suzette@med-amb.org or call her at 209-543-7500 ext. 219.  You can also write a check to Medical Ambassadors International (a 501.c.3 non-profit – meaning your donations are deductible) and put S090 in the Memo field.  Mail the check to Medical Ambassadors International, P.O. Box 1302, Salida, CA 95368.

Medical Ambassadors International is a 501.c.3 organization that has been serving the needy, sharing the gospel and helping them become self-sufficient for 32 years.  Check them out!  They are also members of ECFA (the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability).

Your support is greatly appreciated!!!!  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

